My July Ipsy Reveal

on

julyipsy

July’s theme is Summer Lovin’.  I’m not so sure I’m lovin’ the summer yet, but I’m pretty happy about this bag.  There are a number of things coming my way that I actually need.  Let’s look at the items.

Crown Brush Professional Tweezers($6.99) Here’s something I need.  I damaged my last pair of tweezers so I’m really happy about this.  I expect a higher quality from a name like Crown Brush.  The ends should meet flush with each other and the metal should be sturdy.  There’s a possibility to get either black or pink tweezers, and I’m crossing my fingers for the pink ones.  I’m only going to predict a 4 out of 5, because it’s a pair of tweezers, and while I actually need new ones, what’s the metric for excellence and utter failure apart from plucking the hairs or just leaving them behind?

Aurora Gel Effect Nail Polish (color: 4 Alarm Fire) $7.99 It’s hard to tell from the picture that ipsy used, especially with a name like 4 Alarm Fire, but it’s not actually fire engine red.  It’s actually a slightly pink red.  I’m not sure I have much use for red polish actually, but I want to try it out.  I’ve never done a gel polish before, so I can’t compare it to the real thing, but I can find out how different it is from regular polish.  My only regret is that I’ve neglected my hands while tending to the kitten, so I’m not starting out with a great base to test this out.  Unsure whether this product will be for me, I’m predicting 3 out of 5.

pūr~lisse, pur-bright ultra skin brightening serum  – 0.34oz $25.84 (full-size $76) How fancy!  I can’t believe the price of these.  Know how I keep my skin bright in the summer time?  I stay where there’s air conditioning.  Criticisms aside, my pale skin is not without drawbacks.  If I get a zit, the area will stay somewhat purple for a long time afterward, and I hear brightening serum is good for that too.  If so, I can see why it would be worth the price.  I’m sitting on a 4 out of 5 waiting to find out why it deserves my 5.

Eva NYC, Freshen Up Dry Shampoo – 0.75 oz $3.40 (full-size $24) Here’s something I’ll use up right away, I’m sure.  I recently dyed my underlayer Atomic Turquoise, and while I have plenty of dye left to refresh the look anytime, I’d still like to make it last.  The best way to do this is to shampoo less frequently and use cold water.  In between washing, I can keep my hair looking and smelling nice with dry shampoo.  I just finished the can of TRESemme, and I will NOT be buying that brand again.  I’m pretty happy to read that Eva NYC dry shampoo does not contain aluminum (TRESemme did; Herbal Essences used tapioca and it smelled and felt much better).  For frequent use, there’s no way I could afford to continue with Eva NYC at a full-size can, but I’m happy to have a chance to test it out.  I’m expecting this to be my 5 out of 5.

Jelly Pong Pong Cosmetics, 2-in-1 Shadow/Liner(color: bronze) $16.00 Let me start out by saying that I changed my quiz answers this month to green eyes instead of grey.  I’m thrilled to be receiving something other than beige eye products this month.  I’m also looking forward to using this stick in conjunction with the MARSK loose powder shadow I got a few months ago.  The rich copper-bronze color makes me so happy.  Waiting with a 4 out of 5, but expecting good things.

Total value $60.22; ipsy price $10

Not included in the value, I used some points to get another Chella highlighter pencil.  That thing is awesome!  Are you an ipster yet?  You should be!  If not, sign up today and follow them on your social media accounts to get an August Glam Bag.

Image background by TeacherYanie

Leave a Reply

