Music & More

If you’ve checked out my Music & More page, it might look like I haven’t updated the playlist in a while, but I promise I’m adding new things to it regularly.  After tweaking the settings on Youtube, it now shows the most recent additions to the playlist first.  This way the older things still get to stay there for people who haven’t had a chance to check them out, and if you make return visits you can see the new stuff right away.  It’s mostly music right now, but there are a couple non-music videos.  Maybe I’ll make split lists for music, vlogs and tutorials, because I feel like tutorials break the flow of the music.

The most recent addition to the playlist is Bear’s Den “When You Break” which is NSFW, but so perfectly melancholy and sexy.  I found it on Spotify’s Rainy Day playlist.  If you don’t want to wait for my picks, or you want to curate an obscure playlist of your own, Spotify is a good place to start.  I also recommend Pandora.  Pandora led me down a great rabbit hole of synthpop a few years back and I found a number of bands that were definitely worth seeing live.  De/Vision is my favorite, but foreign acts usually come over partnered with other bands for a tour and smaller local bands as opening acts, so I always come away from concerts with new discographies to devour.

In the car, I keep my radio tuned to 102.1 The Edge out of DFW.  They play a pretty good mix of old and new.  Yeah, Gorillaz is old enough to have announced a comeback.  Eesh!  I’m enjoying Twenty One Pilots lately too.  But can I rant for just a second about one new song that makes me cringe.  “Cecilia and the Satellite” by Andrew McMahon is a pretty good song.  It’s catchy, has a nice sound and a sweet message, but I want to slap the writer for overextending the metaphor.

“I’d keep you safe
I’d keep you dry
Don’t be afraid Cecilia
I’m the satellite”

(so far so good)

“And you’re the sky”

Okay, stop stop stop!  The satellite is good.  Satellites tell you things about dangerous weather so that you don’t get stuck out in a storm.  That’s cool, but if you’re going with that metaphor, then why is Cecilia the sky?  The sky IS the weather.  It doesn’t need to be kept safe and dry, and a satellite isn’t going to accomplish that.  I just really want to slap a guy.  That’s almost as bad as the Dixie Chicks singing “Lovers like you and me will never say die.”  Not only would “I” have been the correct word, but it would have rhymed!

End rant.  Anyway, I really didn’t come here today to get bent out of shape over grammar and metaphors.  I just wanted to talk about the stuff I’m listening to right now and point you in the direction of my growing, changing playlist.

Leave a Reply

